

FEDERAL AND STATE COVID-19 BUSINESS COMPLIANCE INFORMATION

STATE PUBLIC HEALTH COLOR-CODED GUIDELINES

Economic recovery is not like flipping a switch, it's more like moving a dial. The color-coded health guidance system will guide Utahns as we make adjustments to open businesses, but still keep our most at risk populations safe.

Public health and economic opportunity are intrinsically linked. Utahns and businesses must strictly follow the health guidance of each color or risk backtracking and causing greater economic harm.

Click <u>here</u> to view the color-coded health guidelines as of April 30, 2020.

A Mask for Every Utahn Initiative

Utah Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Vendors

THE FAMILIES FIRST CORONAVIRUS RESPONSE ACT

The Act requires certain small employers (those with less than 500 employees) to provide limited paid-leave benefits to employees who are affected by the COVID-19 emergency. Small employers are given new tax credits and federal payroll-tax relief to pay for the new mandatory benefits.

Generally, the Act provides that employees of covered employers are eligible for:

- Up to 80 hours of paid sick leave at the employee's regular rate of pay where the employee is unable to work because the employee is quarantined due to COVID-19
- Up to 80 hours of paid sick leave at two-thirds the employee's regular rate of pay because the employee is unable to work because of a need to care for an individual subject to COVID-19 quarantine, or to care for a child (under 18 years of age) whose school or child care provider is closed or unavailable for reasons related to COVID-19
- Up to an additional 10 weeks of paid expanded family and medical leave at two-thirds the employee's regular rate of pay where an employee, who has been employed for at least 30 calendar days, is unable to work due to a need for leave to care for a child whose school or child care provider is closed or unavailable for reasons related to COVID-19.
- For more information regarding covered employers, eligible employees, and qualifying reasons for leave, visit this <u>link</u>.

RESIDENTIAL EVICTION MORATORIUM

Governor Herbert signed an executive order suspending certain statutes governing eviction proceedings. This order protects residential tenants most impacted by COVID-19 against eviction through May 15, 2020. The Department of Workforce Services and the Economic Response Task Force provide instructions for landlords, tenants, and conditions of eligibility for eviction protection in this PDF.

ACCOMMODATING HIGH-RISK EMPLOYEES

Whether you are a business owner or an employee, you can find information on steps to reduce the risk of infection for high-risk employees at <u>Utah Labor Commission website</u> and by contacting the <u>Utah Occupational Safety and Health Division</u> Consultation and Education Services at (801) 530-6855. Recommendations to protect high-risk individuals in the workplace can be found <u>here</u>. Additional Information can be obtained at <u>coronavirus.utah.gov</u> and <u>here</u>.